Dystopian idea….?

So, I was writing random things in November (National Novel Writing Month) and this was one of my ideas… however, I’m not sure what I should do because it’s not complete and I’m not sure how I’d complete it….. 😮 HELP ME?? 😀 Fare thee well! –Karen Alyse

No one ever said being a teenager wasn’t fun, however, all Isadora could think about was how being a teenager was anything but fun.

It was the eve of her 17th birthday, usually a time for sorrow as it meant transitioning from a teenager to an adult, but Isadora was celebrating. Her trials as a misfit teenager were only hours away from ending. No more drama. No more yelling. No more dreaming. She could finally start being appreciated for what she was.

There was a knock on her bedroom door, she wasn’t expecting that, “Come in?” She called uncertainly to whoever was on the other side of the door. The door creaked open revealing a woman of average height with brightly highlighted golden hair—her mother.

“Hello Isadora.” Her mother said as she stood in the doorway, “Mind if I come in for a little bit? I know this is abnormal, but I feel like I should talk to you.”

Isadora nodded, sitting up on her bed and snuggling closer to her raggedy old Koala bear that has stayed with her since she was presented with it on her 5th birthday. Her mother walked in, staring at the ragged Koala disgustedly, and sat down precariously on the edge of Isadora’s desk chair.

“I know you are excited for tomorrow. I realize that these last 5 years have been an uncomfortable burden for you to bear.” Her mother said calmly and slowly, as she does everything, “I just want you to know that whatever happens, I love you.” Then she leaned forward allowing one of her perfectly styled strands of bright blue highlights to tremble on the precipice of falling out of place, “Remember that, Isadora. Remember.”

Isadora’s eyes widened and she nodded slowly, she had never seen her mother this urgent before, “I will, mother. I promise. I will remember.”

Her mother relaxed and sat straight up again, “Very well.” She said as she smoothed the almost-rebellious strand back into place, she stood up and stepped away from the bed, “I will leave you to your thoughts, then. Tomorrow is a big day.” She walked towards the door to the room and placed her hand on the door handle to pull it closed, turning slightly, she gave Isadora a half smile that didn’t quite reach her eyes, and then walked out of the room.

Isadora jumped a little at the sound of the door closing and then she glanced down at her Koala, the one companion she has had since she was taught to be responsible. Sighing she laid back down on the bed, hugging the Koala tightly, “I don’t know what to do.” She whispered more to herself than anything. “I am supposed to be excited for what is to come, but I don’t know what the ceremony will bring.”

Isadora lay on her bed until it was time for dinner preparations to begin-it was her night to make it. Thursdays have been her certain day to make dinner ever since her 12th birthday. Before that, she never needed to worry about making dinner or take care of anything other than her ebony-colored kitten, Severus. Severus has been her companion from the age of 7. She has taken care of him every day since.

~~~~~~~

Fare thee well!

Karen Alyse

4 thoughts on “Dystopian idea….?

  1. Shareen says:

    You have really got something here – I’m sure the next step with where to take this will come to you. But so far so good.

  2. Christina says:

    It’s a good start. I’m already wondering where you will take the dystopian angle with this story. You kind of hint about it at the end. I actually wrote a dsytopian novel during NaNoWriMo. I still don’t have an end to it though. It’s cool and yet difficult to write a world similar but yet completely different than our own into a story.

    • karenalyse says:

      Ohhh I was totally gonna do that for NaNoWriMo…but I ended up not doing it…. I’m unsure where this story will go….We’ll see:D I’m sorta excited but it may be on the back burner for now…

Leave a Reply

